Skip to main content
National Photographic Portrait Prize 2017

Saturday 1 April until Sunday 18 June 2017

This year is the 10th anniversary of the National Photographic Portrait Prize (#NPPP2017), so it’ll be extra special. In addition to the first prize of $25,000, prizes will be awarded for Highly Commended, Art Handlers' Award and the ever-popular People's Choice.

We want to thank everyone who submitted photographs for the Prize - the judges found it incredibly difficult to select just 49 works from nearly 3000 entries.

National Photographic Portrait Prize 2017 Finalists

Alana Holmberg
Alex Frayne
Anu Kumar
Brett Canet-Gibson
Brian Cassey
Charlie White
Chase Middleton
Cherine Fahd
Chris Budgeon
Chrissie Hall
Christopher Pearce
CJ Taylor
Daniel Sponiar
David Knight
David Darcy
Elke Meitzel
Fiona Morris
Gary Grealy
Gino Zardo
Greg Nelson
Ingvar Kenne
Jo Cripps
John Benavente
John McRae
Jon Reid
Joseph Brennan
Kellie Maree Leczinska (Robertson)
Lyndal Irons
Mark Stanjo
Millie Brown
Natalie Ord
Nic Duncan
Nic Walker
Noah Thompson
Patrick Boland
Peter McConchie
Philip Myers
Robyn MacRae
Spencer and Lloyd Harvey
Stephanie Rose Simcox
Steve Wise
Steven Lloyd
Terry Hartin
Tobias Titz
Tristan Still
Zelko Nedic

The National Photographic Portrait Prize 2017 will be displayed at the National Portrait Gallery from April to June and then tour to a range of venues around Australia. 

Entries for the 2018 Prize will open in mid-October 2017.

We'll be making a lot of noise about the Prize once entries open, but make sure you follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or sign up to receive emails to get the latest information.

Bookings available

$10 / $8 concession / $5 members

National Photographic Portrait Prize 2017 tour dates